Iowa College Foundation

Endowed Scholarship Programs

(Investment of $50,000+)

AEGON Transamerica Foundation Scholarship Program
Because of its strong interest in the business community and in higher education, AEGON of Cedar Rapids provides scholarships for students majoring in business at selected ICF colleges and universities. The AEGON Program has been in effect for more than 20 years.

Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Minority Achievement Awards
Alliant Energy endowed a scholarship fund of $100,000 with the Iowa College Foundation to honor Erroll B. Davis, Jr. for his 30 years of service to the utility industry and his leadership with Alliant. At least one award will be presented annually to honor the outstanding scholarship, community service and future career potential of a minority undergraduate student enrolled in business administration, economics or engineering at one of the member private institutions of ICF that is within the Alliant Energy service areas. The first award was presented in May 2007.

James M. and Betty J. Camp Endowment Scholarship Program
Mr. and Mrs. Camp selected the Iowa College Foundation as a vehicle for awarding financial aid to students in its member institutions. Income from the endowment is dispersed each year to the 23 member institutions to be given to students who are from Iowa and have high financial need.

Ignite Entrepreneurship Scholarship Program
This endowed scholarship program was made possible by a challenge grant from Gage Kent, Chairman of the Board and CEO of KENT Corporation, to ICF's Business Board of Governors. The scholarship program is modeled to assist middle income students who demonstrate entrepreneurial leadership. The investment income from this endowed fund will be distributed annually to junior and senior students at ICF's member institutions who meet the scholarship criteria.

Gleeson Family Scholarship Program
The John Gleeson family endowed this program in 2003-04 for the benefit of selected students from Sioux, Plymouth and Woodbury counties. Through a gift of $100,000, the Gleeson family provides scholarship awards annually to juniors and seniors attending any ICF member college or university that major in accounting, business management or economics.

Kerfoot/Mason Scholarship Program
Des Moines' Harrington K. Mason permanently endowed this program in honor of his great-grandfathers, Roswell B. Mason and William D. Kerfoot; his grandfather, Henry Mason; and his father, Arnold Mason. With this fund, ICF awards one four-year scholarship of $4,000 each year to an incoming freshman who best reflects the Kerfoot/Mason pioneering spirit and service to the community.

Langrock/Grube Memorial Education Fund Scholarship
The Langrock family and friends established an endowment in 2005-06 and the income funds awards annually at ICF member institutions. Eligibility for the program includes plans to study at Grand View University, Luther College or Wartburg College.

Lloyd Biological/Physical Sciences Scholarship Program
Dr. W. Eugene and Linda Lloyd have established an endowed scholarship fund through the Lloyd Family Foundation and Lloyd, Inc. to provide scholarships annually to juniors and seniors attending any ICF member college or university. The scholarships are intended to provide financial support to students pursuing a major in biological or physical sciences. This generous $100,000 gift will continue to have a tremendous impact on students at ICF's member institutions.

Vera Mayer Scholarship Program
The estate of Mrs. Vera Mayer in 1983 established an endowed scholarship fund that provides scholarship assistance annually to all of ICF's member colleges and universities. Mrs. Mayer, having no children of her own, wanted to assist worthy young people in achieving their dreams of attending college.

Newell-Gookin Scholarship Program
This scholarship program is endowed by the Chariton Community Foundation. Each academic year, one freshman student attending an ICF member institution will receive a $1,000 award.

Charles Stephenson Smith Scholarship Program
Endowed by a gift from the Charles Stephenson Smith Trust in 1995, this program enables ICF to annually award scholarships to students at each of its member colleges. Mr. Smith, a native Iowan who had an outstanding career in journalism across the world, has left an everlasting legacy on independent higher education in Iowa through this generous endowment gift.

Westmar Endowment Scholarship Program
Through the generosity of the Westmar College Endowment Board of Trustees, the Westmar Scholarship Program was permanently endowed. The Westmar Friends and Alumni Association and the Westmar Student Association have added funds to the endowment. Scholarships are awarded annually to the best qualified students according to academic merit, commitment to community service and leadership qualities. First consideration will be given to students who are currently residents of northwest Iowa and have a Westmar family-relation connection such as alumni, former staff and former faculty of Westmar as well as their children and grandchildren. Second consideration will be given to students who are residents of LeMars; and third consideration will go to students who have Westmar family-relation connections such as alumni, former staff and former faculty of Westmar as well as their children and grandchildren, but live outside the northwest Iowa area. This program sustains a sense of Westmar's ongoing presence in the educational life of the state of Iowa.

Winter Estate Scholarship Program
Thelma and Carlton Winter were both passionate about their community, the state of Iowa and educational opportunities for young people. Through their estate, an endowment has been established with the Iowa College Foundation. These awards will be an ongoing opportunity for our member college students.

The ultimate test of man's conscience may be his willingness to sacrifice something today for future generations whose words of thanks will not be heard.

— Gaylord Nelson
Founder of Earth Day